Pauline Füg gives the pupils of the 11 participating grammar schools tips on creative writing.
Photo: Gastager / R. Winkler

Concentrated atmosphere during the opening event in the DASMAXIMUM.
All photos: Gastager / R. Winkler

Eleven grammar schools and a museum together active: This is the generously designed writing competition "KunstWortKunst", a joint project of the school cluster of the grammar schools of the districts Traunstein and Altötting with the museum DASMAXIMUM KunstGegenwart, Traunreut.

The competition uses the international significance and central location of the DASMAXIMUM Museum in Traunreut to place art and creative writing at the centre of interdisciplinary education. From the grammar schools of the districts of Traunstein and Altötting, which are united under the aegis of the Technical University of Munich to form the cluster, pupils* of the 9th and 10th grades are invited to write a free text about a work of art in the museum.

"Art is about life. She's the footprint of life. She's shaped by life. But she defies life's freedom. She's different. She's demanding. It is subversive in the sense that it resists constraints and expectations. Actually, we do. And that is where understanding begins," says the Bavarian poet Josef Wittmann, who motivated the participants*in the kick-off event in 2015, because "creativity doesn't care whether you want to write something or not. Like a Siamese twin, creativity is the basis of experience. And she's like experiencing just curious. For what's coming. To what it does to you."

This is where the approach of "KunstWortKunst" and the concept of the museum opened by art patron Heiner Friedrich as a foundation in Traunreut meet in an ideal way. The focus here is not on art-historical instruction but always on the experience of art. The author and poetry slammer Pauline Füg is accompanying this year's kick-off - thanks to the MAXIMUM project WORT:BILDER and the Bavarian Culture Prize she has been awarded, she is also a permanent fixture here in Germany.

The diversity, intensity and quality that young texts have in common, when this freedom becomes possible in encounters with works of art, surprises the seven-member jury with Ingeborg Bachmann Prize winner Norbert Niemann and experts from literary studies, art, culture and the press. After the first judging of the texts in November, the final phase will begin in January, during which the prize winners will be determined and presented at a festive awards ceremony on February 2, 2020. The same applies to the Text-Bild-Band with the best 20 contributions, published by "Freundes- und Förderkreis DASMAXIMUM Traunreut e.V.".

In cooperation with the grammar schools, the creative project KunstWortKunst is an important addition to the curriculum and is therefore firmly anchored in the school calendar every two years.       

 

Information & Contacts:

DASMAXIMUM ArtGegenwart
Museum for Contemporary Art with works by Georg Baselitz, John Chamberlain, Walter De Maria, Dan Flavin, Imi Knoebel, Uwe Lausen, Blinky Palermo, Andy Warhol, and Maria Zerres
Dr. Birgit Löffler, loeffler@dasmaximum.com

Johannes-Heidenhain Grammar School
Reference high school for the cluster schools of the districts Altötting and Traunstein
StDin Theresia Bauer, theresia.bauer@jhg.bayern.de

Matthias Schmid, Direktor des JHG, bei der Begrüßung der Gäste zur Preisverleihung von KunstWortKunst 2017/2018
Foto: Gastager/R.WInkler

Teilnehmerinnen von KunstWortKunst 2017/2018 im Musem DASMAXIMUM vor Werken von Georg Baselitz.
Foto: Franz Kimmel

Elf Gymnasien und ein Museum gemeinsam aktiv: Das ist der großzügig angelegte Schreibwettbewerb „KunstWortKunst“, ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Schulclusters der Gymnasien der Landkreise Traunstein und Altötting mit dem Museum DASMAXIMUM KunstGegenwart, Traunreut.

Der Wettbewerb nutzt die internationale Bedeutung und die zentrale Lage des Museums DASMAXIMUM in Traunreut, um Kunst und kreatives Schreiben in den Mittelpunkt interdisziplinärer Bildung zu stellen. Von den unter der Ägide der Technischen Universität München zum Cluster zusammengeschlossenen Gymnasien der Landkreise Traunstein und Altötting sind Schüler*innen der 9. und 10. Klassen eingeladen, einen freien Text zu einem Kunstwerk des Museums zu schreiben.

„Kunst handelt vom Leben. Sie ist der Fußabdruck des Lebens. Sie ist vom Leben geformt. Aber sie trotzt dem Leben Freiheit ab. Sie ist anders. Sie ist anspruchsvoll. Sie ist subversiv in dem Sinne, dass sie sich Zwängen und Erwartungen widersetzt. Eigentlich tun wir das auch. Und da fängt das Verstehen an“, so der bayerische Lyriker Josef Wittmann, der 2015 die Teilnehmer*innen der Auftaktveranstaltung motivierte, denn „der Kreativität ist es egal, ob Sie was schreiben wollen. Die Kreativität pappt wie ein Siamesischer Zwilling am Erleben. Und sie ist wie das Erleben einfach nur neugierig. Auf das was kommt. Auf das, was es mit Ihnen macht.“

An dieser Stelle treffen sich auf ideale Weise der Ansatz von „KunstWortKunst“ und das Konzept des vom Kunstmäzen Heiner Friedrich als Stiftung in Traunreut eröffneten Museums. Denn hier steht nicht die kunsthistorische Belehrung sondern immer das Kunst-Erleben im Mittelpunkt. Den diesjährigen Auftakt begleitet die Autorin und Poetry-Slammerin Pauline Füg – dank des MAXIMUM-Projekts WORT:BILDER und des ihr verliehenen Bayerischen Kulturpreises ist sie auch in bei uns eine feste Größe.

Welche Vielfalt, Intensität und Qualität den jugendlichen Texten zu eigen ist, wenn diese Freiheit in der Begegnung mit Kunstwerken möglich wird, überrascht immer wieder auch die siebenköpfige Jury mit Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preisträger Norbert Niemann und Fachleuten aus Literaturwissenschaft, Kunst, Kultur und Presse. Nach der ersten Jurierung der Texte im November geht es bis Januar in die Endphase, in der die Preisträger ermittelt und am 2. Februar 2020 in einer feierlichen Preisverleihung vorgestellt werden; ebenso wie der Text-Bild-Band mit den besten rund 20 Beiträgen, der vom „Freundes- und Förderkreis DASMAXIMUM Traunreut e.V.“ herausgegeben wird.

In Zusammenarbeit mit den Gymnasien ist das Kreativprojekt KunstWortKunst eine  bedeutende Ergänzung zum Lehrplan und wurde deshalb  im zweijährigen Turnus fest im Schulkalender verankert.       

 

Informationen & Ansprechpartner:

DASMAXIMUM KunstGegenwart
Museum für Gegenwartskunst mit Werken von Georg Baselitz, John Chamberlain, Walter De Maria, Dan Flavin, Imi Knoebel, Uwe Lausen, Blinky Palermo, Andy Warhol und Maria Zerres
Dr. Birgit Löffler, loeffler@dasmaximum.com

Johannes-Heidenhain-Gymnasium
Referenzgymnasium für die Clusterschulen  der Landkreise Altötting und Traunstein
StDin Theresia Bauer, theresia.bauer@jhg.bayern.de