OAK PLANTING IN HONOR OF JOSEPH BEUYS

". . . for we never want to end the planting action!" Joseph Beuys

When sculptor and performance artist Joseph Beuys in 1982 planted the first of 7,000 trees in Kassel for documenta 7, it marked the beginning of a seemingly utopian Gesamtkunstwerk of unprecedented dimensions. Despite all opposition to "7000 Oaks – City Forestation Instead of City Administration", the last oak tree was planted next to the first one in 1987 for documenta 8 with the help of numerous donators and individual sponsorships.

The DASMAXIMUM Foundation in Traunreut has been honoring the artist and his work since 2015 with the "OAK PLANTATIONS IN HONOR OF JOSEPH BEUYS" project. For his 100th birthday in 2021, the idea was born to expand the project and plant it nationwide. A total of at least 64 basalt stones - one for each year of the artist's life - are to be planted together with a tree.

Advertising poster for a tree donation for the "7000 Oaks" in Kassel.
Archive DASMAXIMUM

"7000 oaks - city forestation instead of city administration", 1982-1987, Kassel.

 

Today, the "7000 Oaks" are considered the epitome of the concept of "social sculpture". With this term Beuys expanded the common art forms by aesthetic, ecological, economic and philosophical aspects, but above all by social ideas: the essential cooperation of all citizens, from politicians to residents. Already in the context of the Kassel project, Joseph Beuys conceived the vision of a worldwide planting campaign. In 1982, Heiner Friedrich, through the Dia Art Foundation, which he co-founded in New York, donated the 7000 basalt steles for the "7000 Oaks" in Kassel - and thus facilitated the start of the largest art project in public space to date. It was also Heiner Friedrich who continued "7000 Oaks" 1988-1996 in New York City and in 2012 - one year after the opening of his museum DASMAXIMUM KunstGegenwart in Traunreut - initiated the "Oak Planting in Honor of Joseph Beuys" in and around Traunreut with the last available stelae from the quarry near Landsburg/Hessen, used for the Kassel project and now under nature preservation.

 

The "Oak planting in honor of Joseph Beuys".

 

Next to each of the growing, living trees stands a million-year-old basalt as a mineral donor and stable "guardian". Over the course of time, the proportions are reversed and the stone is overtaken and "guarded" by the oak. The elements of the "7000 Oaks", as well as those of the "Oak Plantation in Honor of Joseph Beuys", reflect the work of the exceptional artist in a very special way: the tree as living matter that changes and develops and the basalts as a symbol of the spirit in their verticality and permanence. Basalt columns consist of lava that was ejected from the earth millions of years ago and solidified into pentagonal or hexagonal stone columns in the volcanic cone as a result of thermodynamic processes during cooling. They originate from the deepest past, while the growth of the trees goes into the future and is a sign of the revitalization of the earth by man. Past and future meet in the shared presence of oak and basalt.

The Landsburg basalt quarry, source for the majority of the basalt stelae for the "7000 Oaks" in Kassel and also partly for the "Oak Planting in Honor of Joseph Beuys".
Photo: DASMAXIMUM

Tree and basalt stele in Traunreut at the entrance of the Realschule at the Jugendsiedlung.
Photo: DASMAXIMUM

 

The "Oak Planting in Honor of Joseph Beuys" honors the lifetime achievement of an artist whos essential concern was a positive, meaningful and healing work for society and nature in general. Against the backdrop of increasing ecological awareness, his work is more topical than ever. Thanks to the cooperation with Eva Beuys, the artist´s widow, Johannes Stüttgen, master student and lifelong companion of Joseph Beuys, and Norbert Scholz, landscape planner and coordinator of the Kassel oak planting, the "Oak Planting in Honor of Joseph Beuys" can be implemented as close to the ideas of the artist as possible. Thus the spirit of one of the most important, lively and pioneering works of art of the 20th century can be carried on.

In the anniversary year of Joseph Beuys' 100th birthday in 2021, the planting campaigns took place throughout Bavaria and beyond its borders as part of a cooperation with STADTKULTUR-Netzwerk Bayerischer Städte e.V. Oak plantings in honor of Joseph Beuys can also be found in places significant to Joseph Beuys, such as the Hessian State Museum in Darmstadt.

Further info: DASMAXIMUM, phone 08669 1203713 or
Email  eichen@dasmaximum.com

Joseph Beuys

Joseph Beuys (1921 Krefeld - 1986 Düsseldorf), sculptor, painter and performance artist, born in Krefeld in 1921, studied sculpture at the State Academy of Art in Düsseldorf. 1961-1972 professor for monumental sculpture at the State Academy of Art in Düsseldorf. Joint action for the good of society, creativity as a positive human disposition, nature as the epitome of growth, a habitat worthy of protection, and art as a unifying, clarifying, and admonishing process were essential aspects of Joseph Beuys' work.

"I wanted this long-term character, [...], that is, to make something that will really only unfold in a hundred, two hundred, three hundred years, that now actually only a beginning is set: There is a tree planted, there is a stone next to it that marks: In this time, in which we think about these whole questions of the revival of lifelines in nature, which is, after all, in danger through the general destruction of inhuman economic activity, that at this time, therefore, people have set out and have once turned the direction around, in order to bring back into the discussion, therefore, with a very simple, primitive beginning, to put a tree into the earth, all the necessities connected with it, also all the theories, philosophies, etc., connected with it." 

c.a.: Scholz, Norbert: Joseph Beuys : 7000 Eichen in Kassel = Joseph Beuys : 7000 chênes à Kassel = JosephBeuys : 7000 oaks in Kassel, in: Anthos. Zeitschrift für Landschaftsarchitektur = Une revue pour lepaysage, vol 25 (1986), S. 31-35, S. 32.

EICHENPFLANZUNG ZU EHREN VON JOSEPH BEUYS

“. . . denn wir wollen die Pflanzaktion ja nie mehr beenden!” Joseph Beuys

Als der Bildhauer und Aktionskünstler Joseph Beuys im Jahr 1982 in Kassel zur documenta 7 den ersten von 7000 Bäu­men pflanzte, war das der Beginn der Umsetzung eines uto­pisch anmutenden Gesamtkunstwerks von bisher ungekann­ter Dimension. Trotz aller Widerstände gegen „7000 Eichen – Stadtverwaldung statt Stadtverwaltung“ konnte 1987 zur documenta 8 mithilfe zahlreicher Stiftungen, Spenden und Einzelpatenschaften die letzte Eiche neben die erste gepflanzt werden.

Die Stiftung DASMAXIMUM in Traunreut ehrt den Künstler und sein Werk seit 2015 mit dem Projekt der “EICHENPFLANZUNGEN ZU EHREN VON JOSEPH BEUYS”. Zu seinem 100. Geburtstag im Jahr 2021 geht es überregional weiter. 64 Basaltsteine – einer für jedes Lebensjahr des Künstlers – kommen insgesamt zum Einsatz.

Werbeplakat für eine Baumspende für die “7000 Eichen” in Kassel.
Archiv DASMAXIMUM

“7000 Eichen – Stadtverwaldung statt Stadtverwaltung”, 1982-1987, Kassel

 

Die „7000 Eichen“ gelten heute als Inbegriff der „Sozialen Plastik“. Mit diesem Begriff erweiterte Beuys die gängigen Kunstformen um ästhetische, ökologische, ökonomische und philosophische Aspekte, vor allem aber um einen sozialen Punkt: die notwendige konstruktive Zusammenarbeit sämtlicher Bürger vom Politiker bis zum Anwohner. Schon im Umfeld des Kasseler Projekts entwarf Joseph Beuys die Vision einer weltumspannenden Pflanzaktion. 1982 hatte Heiner Friedrich durch die von ihm in New York mitgegründete Dia Art Foundation die Spende der 7000 Basaltstelen für die 7000 Eichen in Kassel – und damit den Start des bis dahin größten Kunstprojekts im öffentlichen Raum möglich gemacht. Heiner Friedrich war es auch, der „7000 Eichen“ 1988-1996 in New York City fortsetzte und 2012 – ein Jahr nach der Eröffnung seines Museums DASMAXIMUM KunstGegenwart in Traunreut – die „Eichenpflanzung zu Ehren von Joseph Beuys“ in und um Traunreut mit den letzten verfügbaren Stelen aus dem heute geschützten Steinbruch bei Landsburg/Hessen anregte.

Die “Eichenpflanzung zu Ehren von Joseph Beuys”

 

Neben jedem der wachsenden, lebendigen Bäume steht ein Millionen Jahre alter Basalt als Mineralienspender und stabiler „Wächter“. Im Laufe der Zeit kehren sich die Proportionen um, und der Stein wird von der Eiche überholt und „bewacht“. Die Elemente der “7000 Eichen”, ebenso wie der der “Eichenpflanzung zu Ehren von Joseph Beuys”, spiegeln in ganz besonderer Weise das Werk des Ausnahmekünstlers wider: Der Baum als lebendige Materie, die sich verändert und entwickelt und die Basalte als Sinnbild des Geistes in ihrer Vertikalität und Dauerhaftigkeit. Basaltsäulen bestehen aus Lava, die vor Jahrmillionen aus der Erde ausgestoßen wurde und im Vulkankegel durch thermodynamische Vorgänge während der Abkühlung zu fünf-oder sechskantigen Steinsäulen erstarrt ist. Sie stammen aus der tiefsten Vergangenheit, während das Wachstum der Bäume in die Zukunft geht und Zeichen ist für die Neubelebung der Erde durch den Menschen. Vergangenheit und Zukunft treffen sich in der gemeinsamen Gegenwart von Eiche und Basalt.

Der Basaltsteinbruch Landsburg, aus dem auch der Großteil der Basaltstelen für die 7000 Eichen in Kassel gewonnen wurde.
Foto: DASMAXIMUM

Baum und Basaltstele in Traunreut am Eingang der Berufsschule der Jugendsiedlung.
Foto: DASMAXIMUM

 

Die „Eichenpflanzung zu Ehren von Joseph Beuys“ ehrt das Lebenswerk eines Künstlers, dem das positive, sinnstiftende und heilende Wirken für Gesellschaft und Natur ein wesentliches Anliegen war. Vor dem Hintergrund zunehmenden ökologischen Bewusstseins ist seine Arbeit aktueller denn je. Dass die Pflanzung so verlässlich wie möglich in seinem Sinne umgesetzt und begleitet wird, verdanken wir der Kooperation mit Eva Beuys, dem Meisterschüler und Wegbegleiter Johannes Stüttgen sowie Norbert Scholz, dem Landschaftsplaner und Koordinator der Kasseler Eichenpflanzung. So wurde weitergearbeitet im Sinne von einem der bedeutendsten, lebendigsten und wegweisendsten Kunstwerke des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Für DASMAXIMUM haben nun Landkreis und Region Priorität. Die neuen Pflanzungen beginnen, soweit es die Pandemie zulässt, im Frühjahr – und bayernweit auch gemeinsam mit mit “STADTKULTUR Netzwerk Bayerischer Städte”.

Weitere Infos: DASMAXIMUM, Telefon 08669 1203713 oder
Email  Eichen@dasmaximum.com

Joseph Beuys

Joseph Beuys (1921 Krefeld – 1986 Düsseldorf) Bildhauer, Maler und Aktionskünstler, 1921 geboren in Krefeld, Studium der Bildhauerei an der Staatlichen Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, 1961-1972 Professor für monumentale Bildhauerei an der Staatlichen Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Das gemeinsame Handeln zum Wohl der Gesellschaft, die Kreativität als positive Veranlagung des Menschen, die Natur als Inbegriff von Wachstum und schützenswertem Lebensraum und die Kunst als verbindendes, klärendes und mahnendes Zeichen waren wesentliche Aspekte im Werk von Joseph Beuys.

“Ich wollte diesen Langzeitzeitcharakter, […], also etwas zu machen, was sich eigentlich erst richtig entfaltet in hundert, zweihundert, dreihundert Jahren, dass jetzt eigentlich nur ein Anfang gesetzt wird: Da wird ein Baum gepflanzt, da steht ein Stein daneben, der markiert: In dieser Zeit, in der wir über diese ganzen Fragen der Wiederverlebendigung von Lebenslinien in der Natur, die ja durch die allgemeine Zerstörung unmenschlichen Wirtschaftens in Gefahr ist, dass zu dieser Zeit sich also Menschen aufgemacht haben und einmal die Richtung umgedreht haben, um also wieder mit einem ganz einfachen, primitiven Beginn, einen Baum in die Erde zu setzen, alle damit zusammenhängenden Notwendigkeiten, auch alle damit zusammenhängenden Theorien, Philosophien usw. in die Diskussion zu bringen”. 

Joseph Beuys, in: Joseph Beuys, Bernhard Blume und Rainer Rappmann: Gespräche über Bäume, FIU-Verlag 2006, S. 46.